Jul 15 2009

Once Upon A Time In San Francisco

Published by at 10:13 pm under mp3,music

Here is my latest mix.

It is a Chill/Ambient mix that starts and ends with a definitive San Francisco artist – Young American Primitive (aka Greg Scanavino).  The two tracks are from Greg’s only CD that we released back in the mid 90’s on my now defunct label, ZoeMagick Records.  It was truly an amazing time in San Francisco.  A time when magic was in the air and everyone felt there was nothing they couldn’t do.

I met Greg one Sunday morning at the EndUp in San Francisco in the 90′s.  He was telling me all about his music so we went to his car where he popped in a cassette tape into the player and we listed to “Over and Out”.  The next day he went to work crafting an entire album which we released a few months later.  The first track on this mix is called “Sunrise” which represents a time when Greg was intern working for the Navy on an underwater listening project (Greg is very smart).  Many times they worked through the night finishing just before dawn.  This song is how Greg describes that moment when the sea is as calm as glass and the morning sun breaks over horizon in that instance of beauty.

Sadly, it has been almost 15 years and I have lost touch with Greg.

I hope you enjoy, and always, would love to hear what you think.




1 Sunrise – Young American Primitive
2 Touched By The Sun – Rusch & Elusive’s Chill Out Mix Edit Envio
3 Tears Don’t Fall – Original Mix Cyrus
4 Ether Aesthetics feat. Vocals By Nevena Nikolova & Kaval By Venzislav Dikov – Original Mix Kliment
5 Drive feat. Melody Gough – Original Mix Jaytech
6 Crystalline feat. Vocals By Nevena Nikolova & Milena Sergueeva – Original Mix Kliment
7 Universe Alchemy feat. Vocal By Milena Sergueeva – Original Mix Kliment
8 Serenade – Katoey Ambient Mix Marga Sol
9 Spacebird – Ambient Mix Ilay Mosolov
10 1000 Mile Drift feat. Brother J – Simon Flower’s Lost At Sea Mix Pitch Black
11 Bird Soul – Ornithomancy Mix Pitch Black
12 Travels To The In?nite feat. Flute By Aura Rascon And Mantra Vocal By Pavel Terziiski
13 Communicate – Original Mix Chris Lake
14 Falling People – Original Mix Dousk
15 Ever Forever Sensibility – Original Mix Cyrus
16 Anagram – Dousk
17 Over and Out – Young American Primitive

No responses yet

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.